Burning a candle at both ends!

It’s Christmas time! Which is my busiest time of the year! I adore Christmas, because I like gift giving. I like hunting down the perfect gift for someone and watching their face as they open it. I love the careful consideration that goes into each person in my life that I love.

This year I’m doing things a little differently. I’m pretty gosh darn broke, so I’m making a lot of things. I’ve got little hessian covered pots of water cress and succulents on the go, pressed Australian native flowers in customised frames, a rather special tutu, special little Christmas baubles (Pokebaubles!), and a few other little bits and bobs. I’m pretty proud of the stuff I’ve managed to knock up.

My Mister’s band¬†played a show in Newcastle on Friday night with Genetics¬†(who are brilliant!). I got the train up after work, had a sleep in the car, and woke up in time to have a good boogie (that’s not to say my dancing is good) and do some banter before we embarked on the epic drive home. I flew in the door just after 3am and dragged myself out of bed at 6:30am to be at work for my 8:30am client. I know this was bad life choices because, although I did not pay for it Saturday, I certainly felt the brunt of it Sunday. Sunday I was fully booked at work, finished at 3, had a catch up drink with my gorgeous friend Rose, went to see some friends’ bands, went to have dinner, and fell asleep at the counter twice while the Mister was paying. Normally I would be mortified about falling asleep in a restaurant, but I was kinda too tired to care, and the Mister sort of just bundled me up and took me home to big soft bed. And I don’t actually recall an awful lot between eating noodles and getting home, but deep within my heart I know I had Nutella and Banana crepes along the way. Winner winner chicken dinner?

I have no one to blame but myself.

A very exciting thing happened yesterday! I got a package containing this:

IMG_6356.JPG

Which is stowed safely in my hand bag for commute/lunchtime reading!

Everything feels chaotic and like a whirlwind, but it always does this time of year, and I love it. I find myself beaming all the time right now because there are so many elements of my life I’m so ecstatic about.

Now we just need to figure out what on Earth we’ll be doing for NYE!

Leave a Reply

